About This Blog

This blog was started as a place to post book reviews. The books reviewed here will be mixed. Science Fiction, Fantasy, Romance, General Fiction, NonFiction and more. Both positve and negative reviews will be posted, as well as reviews for books written for all ages and all reading levels.

Many of the books reviewed here are ones that I have purchased for my own reading pleasure. Some, I receive free in exchange for reviews. Beginning in December, 2009 you will know which are the free ones if you read the final paragraph of my reviews.

Also of note: I choose what I will read, attempting to avoid the books on which I would end up writing a negative review... but I have been known to make mistakes. Thus you see some one and two star reviews here. Since I don't enjoy writing negative reviews, I only write them if the review was promised, or if the book was so exceedingly bad, I just had to say so. Regardless of the percentage of positive to negative reviews on this blog, I give my honest opinion each and every time, and have never received financial compensation for posting my reviews.

Note that, except for fair use portions quoted from some of the books reviewed, all copyright in the content of the reviews belongs to Lady Dragoness.

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Survival in the New World

Drums of Autumn
Diana Gabaldon
Seal Books (1997),
Mass Market Paperback, 1088 pages
Rated 4 stars of 5 possible

In this fourth installment of the Outlander series, Jamie and Claire's daughter, Brianna makes the trip through time and travels from Scotland to America in order to find them, thinking to prevent their deaths by fire. When Brianna finds herself in her father's century, the date on the newspaper clipping she found is still is 6 years in the future... so there's time, but will Brianna be able to make her parents believe the clipping?

The action in the story slows down about mid-way through and drags a bit... not quite as good as the first three novels, but still well worth reading for the continuity. Fortunately, this book picks up again, so only about the middle 1/4 to 1/3 of the book drags compared to the earlier books in the series.

If you haven't read the first three books in the saga, this isn't the place to start, as the story resumes in this book shortly after the end of the third novel; starting at this point would be confusing to many readers. The Outlander saga is one large story, carved into seven more managable parts, which should be read in order.

Book 1: Outlander
Book 2: Dragonfly in Amber
Book 3: Voyager

This review has been simultaneously posted on Dragonviews and Library Thing.

No comments:

Post a Comment